PMA Education

PMA Education and Accreditation Programme 

PMA Education and Accreditation Programme 


The PMA is an ILM and City & Guilds Approved Centre, offering education to develop the skills needed to better understand the business aspects of general practice.

We offer a range of development opportunities for practice managers in primary care. A new programme to further enhance skills, knowledge and understanding has been created by Cathryn Lyon, PMA Director of Education. There’s an option for everyone regardless of current levels of experience.


The PMA is approved by The Education & Skills Funding Agency (ESFA) and is on the Register of Apprenticeship Training Providers (RoATP).  Organisations that are listed on the RoATP have been through an application process with the ESFA that considers due diligence, capability, quality and financial health to assess their capability to deliver high-quality apprenticeship training.

As an ESFA Approved Training Provider the PMA has co-funding available from ESFA that will meet most of the cost of our ILM Accredited Diploma courses. Some NHS regions are making a co-contribution with a bursary. This could mean that the only funding you will need to cover is ILM registration. Please call 0330 111 6459 or email for full details.



The General Practice Awards 2018 will celebrate the very best examples of innovation, dedication and leadership in primary care. Training Provider of the Year is the award for the best provider of training for NHS staff. If you’re happy to share the positive development experience you’ve had with the Practice Managers Association (PMA), please cast a vote in our favour here. It will take just a moment of your time and be greatly appreciated. Thank you.






Recruitment for the first diploma courses is underway. Please register your interest below, call 0330 111 6459 or email .

1: ILM Excellence in Practice Management certificate 

Delegates who attend the six PMA Workshops will receive an Excellence in Practice Management certificate, awarded by the ILM. The workshops provide the essentials for good practice management. For more information about the certificate and workshops, please click here.

♦ Please let us know if this appeals to you by clicking the ‘Register your interest‘ button below.

2: PMA GP Practice Manager – ILM Level 5 Diploma in Leadership & Management

The PMA GP Practice Manager ILM Level 5 Diploma course is designed for those already working in an established management role. It provides an opportunity to achieve an internationally recognised formal qualification. For more information, please click here

3. PMA GP Assistant Practice Manager – ILM Level 3 Diploma in Leadership & Management

This course and qualification is ideal for those aspiring into a management role and who may subsequently move into full practice management. It is suitable for new or existing employees who are expected to develop the skills necessary to lead or manage teams. For more information, please click here

4. PMA Medical Administrator/GP Assistant – City & Guilds Level 3 Diploma in Business Administration

A diploma designed to teach specific skills pertinent to health such as communication, confidentiality, infection prevention and medical terminology. For GP Assistants this can be used to underpin education and training. Employers already have examples of how this can work well to encourage opportunity and skills development for individuals in primary care. For more information, please click here

5. PMA Dental Practice Manager – ILM Level 4 Diploma  

This diploma course is designed to develop an individual for the role of Dental Practice Manager who is responsible for all non-clinical aspects within a practice to achieve excellent patient care, quality, cost and delivery performance in line with practice strategy, goals and values by providing support and direction to all practice staff.

6. NEW – PMA ILM Level 7 Masters in Leadership & Management – COMING SOON


We are now running a  PMA ILM Level 3 & 5 Diploma in Leadership & Management TASTER DAY which will provide you with insight into the full diploma programme. Check here for more information.


Do let us know if the diploma course is something you may consider doing by clicking the ‘Register your interest‘ button below.


Register your interest


Cathryn Lyon, PMA Director of Education


Cathryn has worked in education for over 20 years. This has primarily been in performance improvement, leadership and management. She uses a hands-on technique with teams to engender a proactive approach to changing demands of both commercial business and education.

Well respected as a leader, Cathryn has a keen interest in health and well-being. She uses a holistic approach to drive solutions and promote a harmonious working environment.

As an educator, she is recognised as an engaging, passionate speaker. She has motivated students to fulfil their potentials and seek opportunities they may otherwise not have thought possible.

Cathryn’s interests include complementary therapies, the impact of ageing on general health and advanced rejuvenation techniques.

Feel free to contact Cathryn by email: