PMA Complaints Policy

//PMA Complaints Policy
PMA Complaints Policy2018-07-02T13:55:51+00:00

PMA Complaints Policy Revisions control page
Summary of changes made
20th July 2016, PMA Complaints Policy and Procedures created – Ian Jones
29th Oct 2016, Complaints Policy amended in accordance with the ILM guidelines – Ian Jones
24th March 2017, Qualification update – Ian Jones
5th April 2017, ILM intro paragraph changed and other minor edits – Ian Jones
26th Nov 2017, Process amended – Ian Jones

The PMA is a UK provider of leadership, management and practice management training all recognised by ILM and other ILM qualifications. PMA offers an education and workshop training programme focussed on Excellence in Practice Management.

This Complaints Policy applies to prospective and existing PMA Centres and PMA Trainers and Training Providers who offer PMA qualifications, endorsed and development programmes. The policy provides definition and examples of Complaints and how this applies in connection with centres, providers and learners.
This policy is provided for two purposes – to guide you in how to approach the PMA if you have a complaint in relation to any part of our delivery, as well as to provide our Learning Centres, Providers and tutors with an example of how to develop and structure their own policy statement.

The Complaints Policy provides a definition and examples of complaints which may occur for a Centre, Provider, Learner, or PMA Contractor.
However, the PMA recognise that we may receive complaints from any member of the General Practice community in relation to our training and learning services. The process for making a complaint is described in detail.

Definitions

PMA aims to give everyone an excellent experience when dealing with PMA, so we welcome your comments, suggestions and feedback about the training and learning services you have experienced when contacting us or when using any of our products or services.

Many matters can be resolved informally so do contact the Customer Service Team on +44 01625 800 260 or email: ian@practicemanagersuk.org we may be able to iron out the problem straight away. But if you feel the problem needs to be dealt with through a more formal procedure, please follow the process below.

A complaint is an expression of dissatisfaction from you about PMA products, services or the complaints handling process where it is clear that you expect us to identify the cause of the problem and to take some kind of remedial action.

The PMA aim to ensure that:

  • Making a complaint is as easy as possible
  • We treat a complaint as a clear expression of dissatisfaction with our service which calls for an immediate response
  • We deal with it promptly, politely and, when appropriate, confidentially
  • We respond in the right way, for example, by giving you an explanation or an apology where we have got things wrong and communicate what action has been taken
  • We learn from complaints and feedback and we use them to improve our service.

It is not possible to provide a definitive list of examples of complaints, but the following are examples of situations that may constitute a complaint:

  • Incorrect invoicing – these can normally be resolved without a formal intervention
  • Certificate spelling errors – these can normally be resolved without a formal intervention
  • Lack of response to queries
  • Unable to unsubscribe emails
  • Website issues
  • Incorrect products received
  • Delay with receipt of certificates
  • Non-compliance with stated PMA process e.g. not adhering to published timescales or processes.

Investigation and Outcome

The formal complaints procedure is intended to ensure that all complaints are handled fairly, consistently and wherever possible resolved to the complainant’s satisfaction.

PMA’s aim is to resolve all matters as quickly as possible. However, inevitably some issues will be more complex and therefore may require longer to be fully investigated.

PMA will acknowledge your complaint within two working days and let you know who will be dealing with it. We will appoint an appropriate person to investigate the matter on your behalf. PMA aim to resolve complaints within eight working days but if it’s going to take longer than that we’ll keep you fully informed.

Once we have completed our investigation, we will explain what went wrong and why, apologise when it is appropriate and take appropriate action to remedy the situation as soon as possible.

The three stages to the PMA complaints process are:

Stage one
If you have a complaint in relation to the service you have received from PMA please raise your concern by calling our Customer Service Team on +44 01625 800 260 or email: ian@practicemanagersuk.org, explaining the problem as clearly and fully as possible, including any action taken so far.

Additional information for:
If there is an allegation of malpractice or maladministration please refer to the PMA Malpractice & Maladministration Policy.
Learners – in the first instance you must try and resolve your complaint with your Provider or Trainer following their Complaints policy. If after exhausting the Provider/Trainer policy you still feel the problem needs to be escalated then please raise your concern with the PMA.
PMA contractors – in the first instance you must try and resolve your complaint with your PMA manager.

Stage two
If you are not satisfied with the response you receive to your complaint, you can take the matter further by contacting the PMA Director of Education by emailing: cathryn@practicemanagersuk.org setting out why you are dissatisfied.

Director of Education will undertake a full review of the original complaint, the evidence collected by the person who investigated the matter on your behalf and their initial response. Consultation with all parties will take place to provide you with PMA’s response and any further actions that may need to be taken.

Final Stage
If you are still not satisfied with the response you receive from the PMA Director of Education you can take the matter further by emailing: ILM’s Regulation and Quality Improvement Manager (RQIM) by emailing: ILMRegulation@i-l-m.com

Confidentiality
Except in exceptional circumstances, we will try to ensure that your complaint remains confidential, but in some cases the circumstances giving rise to the complaint may make it impossible to maintain confidentiality. In these situations we will discuss this with you.

Continuous Improvement
All complaints are reported and reviewed internally each month. They are also reviewed by the by the Quality and Regulatory Group on a quarterly basis to ensure our qualifications and programmes are accessible to all whilst maintaining quality in implementation.

The PMA aims to improve its business processes and our response to customers in the light of learning from the feedback we receive.
This policy shall be the subject to an annual review cycle.

Further Information and/or Glossary from ILM

Ofqual
If your complaint relates to a qualification regulated by Ofqual you may complain directly to Ofqual if you have exhausted PMA’s complaints procedure. Please refer to the following link which will explain how you can do this: http://ofqual.gov.uk/complaints-and-appeals/

Qualifications Wales
If your complaint relates to a qualification regulated by Qualifications Wales you may complain directly to Qualifications Wales if you have exhausted PMA’s complaints procedure. Please refer to the following link which will explain how you can do this: http://qualificationswales.org/regulation/complaints/?lang=en

Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA)
Learners registered on a Scottish Vocational Qualification have the right to complain direct to the regulator, the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA). Particularly should they remain unhappy with decisions made by the centre and by further complaint to PMA.

Scottish Public Service Ombudsman (SPSO)
Users of public bodies in Scotland have the right to complain to the SPSO as the final arbiter. Users have to exhaust the public body’s own complaints procedure before the SPSO will consider their complaint, and it must usually have been raised within the previous 12 months. The complaint cannot be under consideration in a court of law.

The SPSO defines a complaint as “an expression of dissatisfaction by one or more customers about [the college’s] action or lack of action, or about the standard of service provided by [the college2] or on its behalf”.

The SPSO will not consider complaints about academic decisions, such as the outcome of an assessment. These types of complaints should be treated as an appeal and should follow awarding bodies’ appeals processes.

The SPSO’s Further Education Colleges Model Complaints Handling Procedure can be found at:
http://www.valuingcomplaints.org.uk/sites/valuingcomplaints/files/resources/The-Further-Education-Model-Complaints-Handling-Procedure-Model-CHP-Guide-to-Implementation1.pdf

  1. The SPSO’s rules apply only to public bodies (e.g. FE colleges and local authority centres). Students at centres that are not public bodies will not be able to escalate their complaints to the SPSO.
  2. For some complaints, there will be no requirement for the college to escalate the complaint to awarding bodies, e.g. if the Complaint concerns the behaviour of a centre staff member (in this case, once the student has exhausted the college’s complaints process, they would go direct to the SPSO if dissatisfied.

Emergency notification contacts

Ian Jones
ian@delegatecentral.com ian@practicemanagersuk.org ian.ljones@tiscali.co.uk
01606 44945 | 07880 788985

Austin Ambrose
austin@delegatecentral.com austin@practicemanagersuk.org
07726 921685

Cathryn Lyon
cathryn@practicemanagersuk.org cathryn21lyon@gmail.com
07964 705839

James Rooney
james_rooney@hotmail.com
07850 877519

Revisions control page
20th July 2016, PMA Complaints Policy and Procedures created – Ian Jones
29th Oct 2016, Complaints Policy amended in accordance with the ILM guidelines – Ian Jones
5th April 2017, ILM intro paragraph changed and other minor edits – Ian Jones